The music of

David Lumsdaine

The music of David Lumsdaine

Printer friendly version

Arc of stars

for string orchestra

Arc of stars was composed in 1990 to a commission from the Australian Chamber Orchestra and was first performed by them in 1992, conductor David Stanhope. It is dedicated to Elizabeth Maconchy, lasts about 18’, and takes its name from the haiku by Matsumoto Takashi (1906-1956):

Cicadas shrieking: The arc of stars Grows steeper still.

(translated by Geoffrey Bownas and Anthony Thwaite)